SPAAR Education & Course Provider Policies
There are no prerequisites for taking a course unless otherwise noted.
Attendance and Etiquette
Continuing education courses must be attended in their entirety in order to receive credit for the number of approved hours. (MN Statute 45.30 Subd.4a)
Live, In-Person or Virtual: Students are required to sign-in prior to class start. Students may also be required to sign-out at the end of class and will be notified by the coordinator monitoring the class if necessary. Students must not leave the class for any extended period of time outside breaks. Be on time or early for class. Students are considered late if they have not signed in prior to the start of class and no CE can be earned – regardless of reason. There is no 5-minute rule, nor does parking, traffic, weather, technology, etc. permit late attendance – per MN DOC. Students shall be respectful and courteous of their peers. Not only is this good business practice, but any attendee not engaged and attentive during the class will be denied CE credits. A staff coordinator is in attendance to monitor and enforce class attendance and etiquette policies.
On Demand Education
Any information obtained will not be sold or distributed to any third party without prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not constitute consent. On Demand classes are timed, with a guaranteed ‘seat-time’ metric, as required by the MN Department of Commerce’s course approval. The course will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, excluding minimal down time for updating and administration through the indicated expiration date of the course. The course will be combination of materials including Self-guided lessons, Case studies, Video lessons, Downloads, external links, and Knowledge checks. Course completion is defined in the system as having completed all content modules, learning objectives & activities, passing the final exam, and completing the end of course survey. The course must be completed prior to the indicated expiration date of the course on the student’s campus account. Continuing education credit will not be awarded for taking the course after it loses its status as an active/approved course. An electronic completion certificate will be available once the course completion is verified. SPAAR will upload the record of course completion credits to pulseportal.com within ten days of the completion of the course.
On-Demand Course Expiration Date
Purchased courses will be available on the student’s SPAAR Community Campus (spaarcc.com) account dashboard for 12 months from the date of registration (purchase date) or until the Minnesota Department of Commerce course approval expiration date, whichever date is sooner.
Course Expiration-Extension Policy
In the event the purchased course is not completed by the given course expiration date, and the course is still an approved continuing education course with the Minnesota Department of Commerce, the student will be allowed to request an extension of the course expiration date one (1) time only. The course extension fee will be calculated as 50% of the current retail price of the course. This course extension will only be permitted for a course that has been started prior to the course expiration date and must be requested within 7 days of the course expiration date. If the course expires a second time, no further course extensions will be permitted, and the student must repurchase the course at full price. The new course expiration date will be provided as 12 months from the course extension or until the Minnesota Department of Commerce course approval expiration date, whichever date is sooner.
On-Demand Course Refund Policy
SPAAR will refund the purchase price of the course paid if the refund request is submitted in writing within 30 days of purchase, is prior to the course expiration, and not more than 50% of the course has been completed. In the event a student has paid a course expiration-extension fee for the course, the refunded amount will only be for the course expiration-extension fee paid, not the total amount paid for the purchased course. SPAAR will not provide any price adjustments on previously purchased items.
Cancellations, Refunds, & No Show Fees
Live, In-Person or Virtual
In order to receive a refund for a class, students must provide a cancellation request with-in 24 hours to the class. Students who cancel after, who arrive late for class, or who do not show up, will not receive a refund. All payments are non-refundable and non-transferable. For classes offered to students with no enrollment fee, a $25 no-show fee will be issued for any student who does not cancel 24-hours prior and who does not attend the class, due upon receipt.
Courses are the property of the Saint Paul Area Association of REALTORS® (SPAAR) and their use is intended for educational purposes only and not intended to be considered legal or tax advice. Information and lessons within courses are designed to provide accurate and educational information with regards to the subject matter covered. It is understood that any and all subject matter experts participating in facilitating the experience along with the author of the course are not engaging in providing any legal, accounting, or other professional services or advice.