What are the Continuing Education requirements for my MN Real Estate license?
The MN Department of Commerce (MN DOC) requires real estate salespersons to complete 30 hours of real estate continuing education (CE) before their June 30 license renewal deadline, and at least 15 of those hours must be completed before the previous June 30. Continuing education must be taken in the appropriate license period; extra hours or courses do not carry over into the next period or satisfy future renewal requirements. You may not repeat a continuing education course for credit during the same licensing period.
REQUIRED COURSES: As part of required hours, there are minimum required courses to complete.
- A specific general module continuing education course must be completed as part of the 15 hours each license year.
- 21/22 General Module: The History of Diversity in Homeownership must be completed by June 30, 2022.
- At least one hour of “Agency Laws” must be completed as part of the 30 hours required for license renewal.
- At least one hour of “Fair Housing” must be completed as part of the 30 hours required for license renewal.
Your broker may require your continuing education be complete prior to the June 30th MN DOC deadline. Please always check with your broker.
For New Licensees: The Minnesota Department of Commerce (MN DOC) requires newly licensed agents to complete 30 credits of continuing education (CE) by the second June 30 after receiving their license for their first renewal. Review your CE Transcript (pulseportal.com) for requirements and due dates.
Review Your CE Transcript
Course completion information is uploaded to Pulse Portal for attendees who have qualified for and completed any real estate continuing education course approved by the Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce. Course completions will be submitted within 10 business days from the course date. To ensure your credits have been reported properly and to stay up to date on your CE requirements, please check your CE Transcripts regularly. Any questions or discrepancies should be directed to the course provider of each completed course.
To view or print a copy of your CE Transcript, follow these steps:
- Visit pulseportal.com
- Choose a Program: Minnesota Department of Commerce
- Choose a Board: Real Estate
- Other Services: Review Your CE Transcript
- Enter your Last Name, License Number, and SSN and select Next
- Click on the View/Refresh Report button
Your transcript will pop open in a new window or browser tab. If nothing happens, you likely have a pop-up blocker on and will need to “Allow pop-ups from this page/site”. Click on the instructions below your name to enable pop-ups.
If you encounter difficulties or need assistance in viewing your license, contact the Pulse Portal Customer Service Department at 877-244-1688 (Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. CST).
Reading your CE Transcript
All courses listed below the summary chart are a record of what courses you've received CE credit for during the two- year licensing period. You may not repeat a continuing education course for credit during the same licensing period. If you find credits are missing, contact the education provider of the course to determine why they are not appearing on your transcript. Check for multiple pages on the top ribbon – this can be easily missed. You can also download and/or print copies of all your real estate continuing education classes you have completed during this current licensing cycle from the top ribbon.
Did You Know?
- It is the Primary Broker’s responsibility to verify that all of the individual licenses associated with your company are CE-compliant. Individuals can check their CE compliance on www.pulseportal.com by clicking on the “Review your CE Transcript” link. If a course has been completed but is not listed on the CE transcript, you will need to contact the course provider for assistance. The MN Department of Commerce cannot assist you with this issue. All completed continuing education must be uploaded by the course provider. Visit Education for Licensees for detailed continuing education information.
- It is the Primary Broker’s responsibility to renew all of the licenses that are due for renewal and associated with the real estate company before 4:30 PM Central time on June 30th of the applicable renewal year. Your broker may have a CE due deadline earlier than June 30th.
- Courses completed after June 17th may result in risking your on-time renewal. MN DOC requires approved education providers to report course completions within ten days from the course completion date. Course completion certificates are not required to be provided.